top of page

Spring Break Hiking


Leatherlips sculpture at Scioto Park

I went to North Myrtle Beach, SC during Spring Break for High Tide, an Ultimate Frisbee tournament where I bonded with teammates and met some people with energy practically pouring out of their rears.


The road trip there was just as fun since our car, packed with five people for a 20-hour trip, stopped at seven different sights in Ohio.


The first three were in Dublin, OH: Scioto Park, Cornhenge, and the Dancing Rabbits.


Scioto Park featured Leatherlips (that is what it's called), who provided an excellent spot for pictures with one of my teammates even climbing up his face to pose on the nose. I, with my perpetual shin splints, did no such thing.


The amphitheater is actually used throughout the year, and I can imagine listening to a concert here would be quite the treat.

The second stop was cornhenge, or Field of Corn. Our car actually met up with one of the other cars there, and most of them (again not me, I avoided it by never letting go of the camera) climbed to sit on top of the giant cobs. The men's team captain tossed the disc to and fro from one perched person to the next in a zigzag (also known as a gauntlet drill), while I videotaped it. Overall, a fun break from sitting in a car.


Also, I kept insisting that the picture I captured below resembled something a boyband cover might use.

The Dancing Rabbits were whimsical and engendered everyone with hyperactivity, demonstrated when they started aiming the frisbee at a trash can down the hill and missing due to the crazy wind. A rock wall lined the cliff beneath a fence, so certain players climbed all over that. The one guy took off his shoes, asking me to throw them up once he reached the top, so I picked up his dirty socks with my thumb and forefinger, stuffed them in his shoes, and regrettedly had one sock escape during its shoe's ascent.


I had to carry it up the hill. Not the worse situation, but socks are not my favorite, especially when they're not mine.

You can see the trash can throwers in the back!

The other two cars continued their merry way to Myrtle Beach and my four compatriots and I went hiking for about three hours at Hocking Hills State Park, also in Ohio.



While in the Rock House, I imagined what it would be like to live in a large intricate cave like that with multiple entrances, a multi-level floor, and natural rock shelves in the walls. I saw fire in the sheltered coves, pots on the earthen shelves, and people spying out of the natural windows. At the far end, there was an earthen slide as an exit that a teammate slid down even though the slide appeared to be at least 15-20 feet long. I unfortunately didn't snag any pictures from the Rock House because the climbing was too hazardous without proper shoes (no one warned me about the hiking before we left), so I left the camera behind.


I fortunately snagged pictures everywhere else. Enjoy!


Disclaimer: I dawdled behind four athletes, meaning I didn't have time to find the "perfect angle" or take too many shots without losing sight of them, and I'm an amateur photographer who only knows how to press buttons.

~Top Tangents~
Recent Tangents!
Tag to a Tangent
No tags yet.
 ~Follow the tangents ~
Click below!
bottom of page